I don’t really know how to start this blog other than to just say thanks thanks thank you…to everyone. I have been so honored and truly blessed to meet so many great people here in Hong Kong, and as I type this on the eve of my departure I can honestly say I am not quite ready to leave. I have many things to look forward to in Seattle though and I can’t wait to see all my friends and family back home. I feel very fortunate, and can say with confidence that I am at home here now as well. I am leaving Hong Kong on good terms, in good sprits and there are several irons in the fire for a return trip next year.

This has been a life changing experience and I have made connections with people here that I feel will last a life time. It is also amazing to me to feel so familiar with a place that is on the other side of the planet to where I’m from. My cantonese is coming along and I plan to continue to learn as much as I can when i get back to Seattle. I realize this is a bit of a ramble but I feel almost at a loss to describe the level of joy that I’m experiencing. I feel very loved by this city and by my friends and of course my students. It is more than I could have ever asked for and I am truly truly grateful. – with love Matt g.

